São Bento da Porta Aberta
Resume of the Petition and provision which gives license to say Mass at St. Benedict Hermida, located at parish of St. John of Rio Caldo:
In 1980, the researcher and professor at the University of Coimbra, Canon Avelino de Jesus Costa, found the original of an essential document to discover the truth about the origin of the sanctuary of St. Benedict, nominated of the Open Door. Finishing, so, with the numerous legends about the foundation of this temple.
Thus, and according to the cited document, in 1614, the visitor of the Archbishop of Braga, responsible on behalf of that Prelate by that area of the Archdiocese and towards the complaints of the population of Seara about the church stay far and with difficult access, especially in winter, ordered the parish priest that in the space of a year was built a hermitage that would allow satisfy the wishes and needs of the local Christians.
In 1615, it was inaugurated the temple and was given the order to start celebrating worship in this chapel that was dedicated to the Father and Patron of Europe, St. Benedict. This is the true origin of the current basilica which is known by “São Bento da Porta Aberta”.